We woke up, and the year comes to an end whilst we were in a panic mode when the world began to open back its doors worldwide one step at a time. Businesses rush into operation mode, re-starting something that was put off, trying to wake up from that slow slumber mode that we had been in.

Time lost.. approximately 3 years when Covid hit.

Some of us are still grappling with the loved ones we’ve lost in that season. Some of us realised that we can’t get back to where we were and to continue as if nothing’s changed. Some businesses have closed down forever with no hope of re-starting. Some have run out of finances… and many of us, are trying to appear okay struggling to rise above our depressions from the aftermath of the world closing down.

Hardly anyone wants to talk about it. The reason being, the counsellors, mentors and even psychiatrists were not spared from this event. It has impacted all of us. All at the same time.

I have not have to deal with the impact of losing loved ones before this. All this while, I accepted it as part of the evolution of life. So much so, I have become ‘disconnected’ from the emotion of loss. My belief was that everything is ‘lost’ in the first place.

I was borned into a LOST family. Relationships are Lost. Truth is Lost. Trust is Lost.

It was the loss of a friend that I bumped into before he passed away. I met him almost 30 years ago, we were both young, pursuing life and so full of excitement and glitter in our eyes. It was not long after our encounter, that I learned of his death. He was in his mid 50s. I guess, that hit ‘home’ because he was around my age and there were some things I had wanted to say to him after our meet up.

Eversince that day of his passing, every death began to prick in my heart. I cried silent tears. I’ve had to walk away from all my social medias… as it has become nothing sociable about it, except more reports of death. Even life, began to look like death was coming after.

When I have finally resonated with the pain of loss, I began to wonder about Time and Life.

I have spent this year running around back and forth for my parents health issues. One stopped eating and the other had a fall. After nursing both back to health… there was also my aunties and uncles who, some don’t have children of their own, aging with their own set of problems.

I get it now, why God alloted 70 years. I used to think that it was too short until I see how the aged is struggling beyond this age. There is nothing they can do. Even if they are still active, it is not without pain killers, health issues and burdening those around them. The worse case scenario I have witnessed is the aged is adding more sin into their old age by complaining, getting angry, being difficult, blaming others and bitteroot goes deeper and further.

The years of our life are seventy, or even by reason of strength eighty; yet their span is but toil and trouble; they are soon gone, and we fly away.

Psalm 90:10 ESV

God indeed knows, what is good for us. There is a time to let go.

Looking at my own time-frame, I can see how much time I have lost, and how much time I have left. I remember one radio talk-show I listened in when I was in Hawaii. The pastor said, if the alloted years is 70, put a rock or paper origami to represent each year you have left. Each year, remove one of the rock or paper. Count your blessings, give thanks and look forward to your time to join God in the heavenlies.

I probably would add to it by asking ourselves, what have we done, how have we valued, loved and given that year. I might even add a yearly jar. Put a rock for every conviction in a jar, and put a paper origami into another jar for every good you have done. Lets see how that looks every month, and as the year close to an end.

As I now see it, there is no reason to prolong or extend one’s life time.

Live everyday to the fullest.
Do as much as you can without complain.
Bless others with what you have because you cannot bring anything when you leave.
Leave without regrets by forgiving and taking no offense.

Hello & Goodbye 2022